Kliknij, aby wydrukować



What are the Norway and EEA Grants?
EEA and Norway Grants are common names of two programs: the European Economic Area Financial Mechanism and the Norwegian Financial Mechanism.

EEA and Norway Grants are a form of foreign aid granted by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway to Poland and other Member States of the European Union.

Which countries are the beneficiaries of Norway Grants and EEA Grants?
The recipients of Norway and EEA Grants are total of 15 EU countries: the new Member States as well as Spain, Portugal and Greece.

What is the allocation for Poland?

In general, the allocation for Poland is EUR 578.1 million. This amount includes the management costs of the Donor States and  the Polish side as well as the Fund for bilateral relations at the national level.

Management costs of the Donor States amount to around EUR 43.4 million. This will be disbursed for maintaining of the Financial Mechanism Office in Brussels, assessment, monitoring, evaluation, reporting and audits conducted by the donors.

For the tasks performed by the Polish side i.e. management, implementation, monitoring, controlling and information about the funds there are reserved means of so-called Technical Assistance. Technical Assistance budget is nearly EUR 8.4 million.

Fund for bilateral relations at the national level, which is a source of financing initiatives to strengthen cooperation between the donor and the beneficiary country is about EUR 2.9 million. The Fund will be able to finance initiatives facilitating establishing cooperation and networking at the national level.

What are the Donor States?

This term refers to three countries - Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway so countries which granted Poland Norway and EEA Grants.


What is the difference between Norway Grants and EEA Grants?

Norway Grants come only from Norway, while the EEA Grants come from Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway.



What is the European Economic Area?

European Economic Area (EEA) is a free trade zone covering the Common Market of the European Union countries plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. EEA is based on four fundamental freedoms: free movement of people, capital, goods and services.


For which years Norway and EEA Grants are granted?

EEA and Norway Grants are earmarked for the period 2009-2014, but the beneficiaries will have two years to implement the projects.

This is the second edition of the EEA and Norway Grants. The previous edition covered the period 2004-2009.



What are the programs under the EEA and Norway Grants?

Basically, programs are thematic areas. Within a programme it is possible to receive funding for thematically similar projects. For example, research may be funded under the programme "Polish-Norwegian Research Cooperation."

In Poland a dozen of programs were established. The responsibility for implementation of a programme is carried out by institutions/organizations specialized in a particular field. For example, the Ministry of Health is responsible for implementation of health programmes.  These institutions act as so-called program’s Operators. In some cases, operators cooperate with companies/institutions from Donor countries.